Years 11 - 13

NCEA (National Certificate of Educational Achievement) is New Zealand's national qualification for senior secondary students. NCEA is part of the National Qualifications Framework. NCEA provides the pathway to tertiary education and workplace training.

Each year, students study a number of courses or subjects. In each subject, skills and knowledge are assessed against a number of standards. Schools use a range of internal and external assessments to measure how well students meet these standards.

When a student achieves a standard, they gain a number of credits. Students must achieve a certain number of credits to gain an NCEA Certificate.

There are three levels of NCEA, depending on the difficulty of the standards achieved. In general, students work through Levels 1 to 3 in Years 11 - 13 at the College. Students are recognised for high achievement at each level by gaining NCEA endorsed with Merit or NCEA endorsed with Excellence.

To find out more about NCEA, visit this link



Scholarship is a monetary award to recognise top secondary school students. Scholarship exams are externally assessed and are an additional set of exams. They do not attract credits, nor contribute towards a qualification, but the fact that a student has gained a Scholarship appears on their Record of Achievement.

Understanding NCEA

Supporters and Sponsors

Parents, please support our local businesses

Four Square Lumsden Q-Tech Construction Ltd Winton Autos Geoph Keach - AA Centre - Invercargill Harcourts Gore W Thompson & Co Ltd Toasted X Roasted

Login to Northern Southland College